Welcome to IPRIME

IPRIME focuses on creating opportunities for professionals in industry to collaborate with students and researchers at the University of Minnesota. This exchange provides a productive environment for addressing key areas in interfacial and materials science.

Overview Slide Presentation                                            News & More

northrup_a_1.jpg                             campus_looking_towards_minneapolis.jpg          

Upcoming Events

Rheology Short Course
Sept 2-6 (with lab) KU Leuven

Register Here


Coating Process Fundamentals
Short Course

May 19-21, 2020

Research Programs

  • CPF banner
  • MP Banner
  • NMP Banner
  • BB header
  • BPM Banner
  • EMD Banner
  • FEP Banner

IPRIME Members Only

Member Access 
(Password Protected)

2019 Meeting Highlights

NSF Report Highlights IPRIME for Industrial Collaborationnsf_report_cover.png

"Increase industry sabbaticals in academia.
Industry sabbaticals are encouraged through personal relationships and in some consortia (for example, the IPRIME consortium at the University of Minnesota, where over 200 industrial researchers have participated in its Industrial Fellows Program)."

Read More

What's in the News

PPG Sponsors the 2019 IPRIME Poster Awards

We would like to acknowledge the generosity of PPG and express our appreciation for their sponsorship of the 2019 IPRIME Poster Awards!

Read More

McCormick & Siepmann Named AIChE Fellows

May 30, 2019 - Nanostructural Materials & Processes program leader and faculty member have been named Fellows of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE), which is the highest grade of membership and achieved only through election by the Board of Directors.

Read More 

Francis named CSE Distinguished Professor

April 26, 2019 - Coating Process Fundamentals Professor Lorraine Francis has been named a College of Science and Engineering (CSE) Distinguished Professor for her exceptional contributions to teaching, international reputation in scholarly research, and genuine commitment to the College and its activities.

Read More

Xiang Cheng, a CPF researcher, wins 2019 Arthur B. Metzner Early Career Award

April 22, 2019 - Associate Professor Xiang Cheng has been named the 2019 Arthur B. Metzner Early Career Award recipient. The competitive award is given to a young person who has distinguished him/herself in rheological research, rheological practice, or service to rheology. 

Read More

Macosko visits the University of Guadalajara

APRIL 8, 2019:
Professor Emeritus and founding CSP member Chris Macosko visited the University of Guadalajara last week. As part of the Amundson lecture series he was interviewed about sustainable polymers. Sustainable plastic has become an important topic of discussion in Mexico recently as the government is considering a bill banning single use plastics. Chris emphasized the importance of developing new sustainable polymers and recycling.

Read More

Collaborative research on energy transport in solar cells published in Nature Communications

March 19, 2019 - A team consisting of IPRIME Ph.D. students Tao Zhang and Dana Dement, and their advisors Professors Russell Holmes and Vivian Ferry, has recently reported a new method that permits measurement of nanoscale energy transport in a working solar cell. 

Read More

Frank Bates named National Academy of Inventors Fellow

Dec. 11, 2018 - 

Status is the highest distinction accorded to academic inventors. The National Academy of Inventors (NAI) announced today that University of Minnesota Chemical Engineering and Materials Science Regents Professor Frank Bates has been named an NAI Fellow.

Election to NAI Fellow status is the highest professional distinction accorded to academic inventors who have demonstrated a prolific spirit of innovation in creating or facilitating outstanding inventions that have made a tangible impact on quality of life, economic development and the welfare of society.

Read More

CEMS Researchers Set New Record in Electrically-Controlled Magnetic Device

Dec. 5, 2018 - CEMS researchers in Prof. Chris Leighton’s group, working in collaboration with the U of M School of Physics and Astronomy, Iowa State University, and Oak Ridge National Lab, have recently achieved a new record for performance of an important type of spintronic device. 

Read More

Ellison Co-PI on $1.98M NSF EFRI Grant

Nov. 21, 2018 - Associate Pofessor Chris Ellison (MRSEC Seed CEMS) was awarded co-PI on a new National Science Foundation (NSF) EFRI grant entitled ... 

Read More

Holmes named Institute on the Environment Fellow

Nov. 14, 2018 - Professor Russell Holmes was recently named a Fellow of the University of Minnesota Institute on the Environment (IonE). IonE Fellows ... 

Read More

Macosko delivers plenary talk at 31st Congress of the Polymer Society of Mexico

Nov. 8, 2018 - Professor Emeritus Christopher W. Macosko recently gave a plenary talk, "The Role of Processing and Interfacial Reaction on Polymer/Polymer ... 

Read More

More IPRIME news
click HERE